A Sugar Addicts Struggle To Survive

Looking for healthy spins on some recipes? Here are some things I have eaten, loved, and think you will too. I will add some more later, but here are just a few for now.I also included some snack ideas!

Co-slaw: Instead of that typical mayonnaisey sugar filled co-slaw you may be used to , try making your own. This is a recipe from my Dad. It is super healthy and a smart choice when dieting at a BBQ.  

  • -Bagged cabbage and carrot mix
  • -drizzles of olive oil
  • -white vinegar (1/2 cup)
  • -Salt & pepper to taste

TNS: This is a popular dish amongst my family. Also known as the poor man’s food, this usually consists of the only items you have in your cupboard. Tuna, Noodles,and a Surprise.. The Surprise being..that it tastes so good. Here is my twist on a macaroni tuna salad.

  • Brown rice ( the kind you cook for 45 minutes, not instant!) *If you want to go even more crazy, try it with Quinoa*
  • Can of white Albacore tuna
  • Lite Mayo (1 little squeeze into the tuna)
  • Chopped onion ( I like half an onion..but I LOVE onions)
  • Chopped celery
  • Drizzle white vinegar over.
  • S&P to taste

Healthy Eating tips:

Spoonful of Teddie All Natural Unsalted Peanut Butter with Granny Smith Apple. Try the chunky version, will feel like you are eating more.

Buy the non-fat plain Greek yogurt instead of flavored yogurts. Add your own fruit and throw some almonds in the mix too for some crunch.

Instead of peanut butter and jelly on Bread, try the Joseph’s Flax Seed Lavash squares. I think it is delicious! Plus, less carbs and calories then two slices of bread.

Leave a comment