A Sugar Addicts Struggle To Survive

I can not stress enough how important food preparation is when dieting. I should probably practice what I preach, because lately “grazing” seems a lot easier than eating an actual meal.

Sunday is the best day to plan your meals ahead of time. That is what I plan on doing this weekend.  I am no nutritionist, but I do know a good amount about eating healthy, through common knowledge and friends in the health industry. So here is a list of some foods you can prepare ahead of time to stay on a healthy diet.

1. Quinoa : This is a great alternative to rice or pasta. It is a seed and can be cooked like rice. You basically just boil it for 10-15 minutes. It does not have a lot of flavor, so I like to cook it with a little bit of vegetable broth or chicken broth. Quinoa has a bunch of protein and is gluten and cholesterol free. Cook this ahead of time and store in the fridge. Should be good for a week.

2. Grilled Chicken: Nothing is more annoying then de-frosting chicken. It takes forever, and ordering food seems so much easier, which is what I would end up doing because I don’t feel like waiting to cook. So, grilling up a few boneless, skinless chicken breasts is the smart thing to do. Just a little salt and pepper, slice it up, and toss it into a container.

3. Veggies: Salads are obviously a good meal when you are trying to eat healthy. Making salads can be pretty time consuming, depending on how big and awesome you want your salad to be. So with that said, here are the veggies you should be preparing ahead of time.

-Lettuce: I usually buy a 3 pack of the romaine lettuce. They need to be washed and cut, so I use my salad spinner (best present ever!) and pre-cut and wash 2-3 stalks. Just get a big tubberware container and you are set for a week or so.

-Cucumber: I like to peel and slice my cukes (only 1 cucumber) at a time. I only do one because that wil last a few salads, and I don’t want them to get slimy, which will happen if you leave them in fridge long enough.

-Celery: Wash and cut mini stalks.

-Peppers: Red Green Yellow, whichever is on sale! I like to wash and cut into strips. Great for quick omelets too.

These are the main foods you should have prepared in your fridge each week. It will help with last minute meals, and hopefully keep you from grazing instead of sitting down and having a nice healthy meal.

Comments on: "Day 13: Food Prep For Healthy Eating" (1)

  1. PS- As a non-red meat eater, and rare chicken eater, a good back up besides chicken would be a container of tofu or tuna drained and mixed with a little mayo or S+P already in a container.

Leave a Reply

