A Sugar Addicts Struggle To Survive

Desmond loves apples

It is day 2 of my low sugar diet and I am feeling great. Last night I hit up a Red Socks game where my self control was really tested. Everywhere I turned there were people with soft serve ice cream, and that ice cream was covered in rainbow sprinkles. It is funny because I told myself after my 21 days I would treat myself to something, and that thing would be soft serve with rainbow sprinkles. I didn’t cave though!

So I am still trying to understand the “rules” of this diet. I guess they are whatever I want them to be, but I don’t want to think I accomplished something if in fact I am still taking in way too much sugar. I will say this though, if I can go 21 days without eating candy or chocolate then that is an accomplishment in itself.

Anyways, I am going to try to cut back as much as possible. Started out the day with non-fat plain Greek yogurt, which apparently has 9 grams of sugar in a serving. HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE? This is plain as can be and still they managed to shove a bunch of sugar in it. I would not want to know what it would taste like with 0 grams of sugar, blah. I did cut up a few (only 2) strawberries into the yogurt and had a packet of almonds. The almonds also plain still managed to have 1 gram of sugar in them. So as of now I am probably up to around 10 grams. Ah well, such is life. That will be my fruit consumption for the day.

Here is a list of fruits that are low in sugar:

-Lemon and Lime
-Rhubarb
-Raspberries
-Blackberries
-Cranberries

Fruits Low to Medium in Sugar

-Strawberries
-Casaba Melon
-Papaya
-Watermelon
-Peaches
-Nectarines
-Blueberries
-Cantaloupes
-Honeydew melons
-Apples
-Guavas
-Apricots (fresh, not dried)
-Grapefruit

Comments on: "Day 2: What Is The Deal With Fruit?" (4)

  1. good information!

  2. Hi, It’s me, from Food Diary of a Dietitian! The sugar found in yogurt is a naturally occurring sugar- lactose.Unfortunately, the sugar content on food labels does not distinguish between added and naturally occurring sugars. You don’t apply the naturally occurring sugar grams to the recommended teaspoons per day as that is for ADDED sugars. Some weight loss plans do, however, call for restricting all sugars- added and natural.
    Sounds like for you, you will have enough of a challenge and great success by dropping candies, sweets, and added sugars. You might want to focus on that first and then maybe move into a phase where you limit ALL sugars to a certain amount daily, such as the belly-fat busting plan I write about trying to follow on my blog. One step at a time!

    • Thanks! Yeah, for now I will only focus on quitting the junk sugar. At some point I would like to try all sugars, or at least cut back as much as I can for a little while. Thanks again for the information.

  3. woah woah woah… apricots are a fruit?

Leave a Reply

